top of page

Prepare to win

One of my favorite quotes by Zig Ziglar is this: "You were born to win, but to be a winner, you must plan to win, prepare to win, and expect to win." I like this statement. It is fitting to life as well as to chess. The preparation time might not be the easiest but once you love what you do you'll surely find some fun into it :) Planning to win sets you in the right kind of attitude. It brings energy into the preparation season and rises your performance expectancy. My father taught me to always play to win. If you go to the game with a winner mentality most chances are you will win. If you go draw hunting, then you lower your expectation and push away victory from within your reach.

In the university years I mostly got prepared for the exams but not properly so for each class during the year. I can say that the time I did go prepared, with the lesson learned and the homework done I sensed a satisfying tranquility and could not wait to get to school. It is the same during a chess tournament. Once you grab a seat in front of your adversary knowing what he/she habitually plays, his/her style and having decided how to lead the game that same tranquility settles in even before the game gets started. You are confident, you are well able, you are prepared. How much more important does the home preparation becomes once you understand all this?...

:)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page