top of page

The Number One quality all chess players need to possess

Self-control: what is it and why do we need it? How can we develop the habit of exercising it in our chess games and life? I believe self-control is the capstone of all discipline. I like the word 'discipline'. It makes me think of people who have the control of their own selves. In contrast, a lack of it leads to unstable attitudes and behavior. If we want to give the best of ourselves then we must learn how to be disciplined. If Love is the governing force influencing our actions then self-control will be a natural result of it. How can we discipline ourselves properly? Well, as I am writing this I am sitting on a rock on a gorgeous beach and since I am wearing a bathing suit I cannot help but notice that I need to discipline myself to do sports regularly and probably follow a good diet, too :) You might not think as I do but here we come to the discipline of thought as well :) I might have to refrain from focusing on the negative and instead choose to always entertain healthy thoughts, of love and encouragement, thoughts that will keep improve the quality of my emotions. I can discipline myself to avoid arguing with the people who try to dump their discontentment and criticism on me. As a chess player, I can exercise self-control by not hurrying to make that move that seems just perfect at the first look. The thing is this: we all want to be treated right by everybody else, so why not starting to be the first ones doing it? Being disciplined is treating yourself right in the beginning and since you respect yourself you will be able to respect others, too. We all need more of that in our lives, don't we? And now I'll go swimming! :)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page