top of page

Think like a champion

When we think of a champion we tend to imagine someone who has it all together, we picture a genius who cannot fail. But the fact is champions too make mistakes. Some smaller, others bigger. Obviously we all desire to act perfectly all the time, to lead the game flawlessly. Nevertheless there are dozens of factors that can influence a game, some of which pass us by leaving our awareness dormant. What I am trying to say is that it is not all up to us and there can be circumstances out of our control. The important thing is to remember one of the principles of success discovered by Napoleon Hill which states that 'every adversity, every failure, every heartbreak, carries with it the seed of an equal or greater benefit'. When we do mistakes we should try to remedy the course of the game without rehearsing over and over the error on the display of our mind. That only leaves us with a bitter taste while wasting the energy necessary to the rebuilding process. It reminds me of my first National Championships, when I was almost ten. In my latest round I was only one draw away from the champion title. I led a nice game but at a certain point I made a mistake, consequently losing a pawn. At first I became angry with myself and discouragement tried to install but I made a choice and it was the good one. I thought that I could not turn back time and also that a flower doesn't make the spring so I decided to do my best from that time on. The right attitude led to right behavior, I started dominating my opponent and won a piece shortly after that. The result was the most desired one: I won the game and I became champion for the first time! That inspiring thought and that decision at the turning point of the game facilitated my victory! I would rather say the gold medal still looks good on me after nearly 20 years, doesn't it? :p

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page